OH! It’s a writing prompt! LIKE ELEMENTARY SCHOOL FOR BLOGGERS!

WordPress asked:

Do you feel obligated to finish all books you start reading?

Yes.  It’s like a compulsion.  I do believe I’ve written about this in a prior post.  There’s a book I started when I was about 12 with a title something akin to “Midnight Sun” that was just AWESOME, but I haven’t finished and it’s driving me insane!  I have been able to give up on a book that is just so horrifically written I can’t stand it.  One such book, which I will not mention lest I go off on a completely separate rant about it (this will not be a review post, Uriah, this will NOT be a review post!) actually is the first in a humongous series!

“But, Uriah,” you say, “just how bad could it have been?”

A CHARACTER TOOK A DIARY ON A SPYING MISSION!  No, not a journal of her targets activities.  An honest to god, “Dear Diary, Darien is SOOOOO hot!” DIARY!  WTFOMGKILLMENOWPLZRSLY?!

Then there was some fantasy that I read the first 2 books of and thought was really well thought out, but poorly written, and decided to get the second set of 2 books and wound up falling asleep every.  Time. I. Read. It.

It would be like if I wrote an entire novel about paint drying.  The first few sentences might be entertaining.  The entire first chapter, or maybe even first couple chapters, could be interesting if they were handled by a fabulous writer who could make you feel as if you were truly there, watching as the paint ever so slowly lost it’s glossy, wet look and faded into the dull off-white-eggshell tone in much the same way life stripped away our youth, or some other such drivel.  But once you get past that, it’s all just staring into space…for 800+ pages!  For ONE book!  There’s also a second book…

But I’m sure that, at some point in time, I’ll pick it up again and start reading it, just so it’s finished…

I HAVE TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

